# Welsh Hill Climb Championship 2023



# Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials Under their rules and regulations Promoted by the Welsh Cycling Association

On Sunday 8 October 2023 Course RH/10X

## **Official Result**

		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •				
Male Senior Champion	Ed Laverack	Backpedal	12:12.2	Championship Cap; Hill Climb Trophy; WCA Medallion		
Women's Senior Champion	Illi Gardner	Wahoo Le Col	14:48.3 (Course Record)	Championship Cap; Hill Climb Trophy WCA Medallion		
Male Veteran Champion	Phil Stonelake	Bristol Road Club	13:53.7	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		
Female Veteran Champion	Lowri Woodier	Pontypool RCC	19:38.7	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		
Espoir Champion	Chris Mann	Velotik Racing Team	13:27.8	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		
Male Junior Champion	Charlie Williams	Hereford & Dist. Whs.	18:02.3	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		
Male Juvenile Champion	Joshua Palmer	VMCC powered by Y Beic	19:48.4	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		
Female Juvenile Champion	Helen Stevenson	Cwmcarn Paragon RC	23:24.8	Championship Cap; WCA Medallion		

There were no riders in Female Espoir or Junior categories.

#### Other Awards

2 <sup>nd</sup> Male	Chris Mann	Velotik Racing Team	13:27.8	WCA Medallion
3 <sup>rd</sup> Male	Kieran Wynne- Cattanach	Team Lifting Gear Products	13:31.1	WCA Medallion
2 <sup>nd</sup> Female	Lowri Woodier	Pontypool RCC	19:38.7	WCA Medallion
3 <sup>rd</sup> Female	Becky Aicheler	Cwmcarn Paragon	19:43.2	WCA Medallion

The full result of this event is published on the CTT website

### Your Production Team were:

Start Timekeeper: - Martyn Heritage-Owen Bush Healthcare Finish Timekeeper: - Robin Field Cardiff Byways CC

Finish Recorder: - Phyllis Harradine Welsh CA

HQ Clerk Frances Field Cardiff Byways CC

A wonderfully warm day with just a gentle breeze meant shirtsleeves on the top of the Tumble were in order! Good to see Ed Laverack back trying to beat his 2018 course record but it was never under threat. Illy Gardener broke her 2022 Female course record: well done Illy.

Congratulations to all competitors especially those who won nothing – without your support there would be nothing.

Robin.

The Welsh Time Trial Champions and all Medallion winners will have their awards sent to them as increased costs coupled with falling numbers no longer make the Welsh CA Annual Lunch viable.

**Event Secretary:** 

Robin Field. 89 Velindre Road, Whitchurch, Cardiff. CF14 2TG

Order	firstname	lastname	club	gender	category	age on day	Finish Min:S.decS	Start Number
1	Ed	Laverack	Backpedal	Male	Senior	29	12:12.2	45
2	Chris	Mann	Velotik Racing Team	Male	Espoir	22	13:27.8	41
3	Kieran	Wynne- Cattanach	Team Lifting Gear Products	Male	Senior	26	13:31.1	49
4	Archie	Cross	Bristol Road Club	Male	Senior	28	13:34.4	40
5	Joshua	Hall	Elevate RT	Male	Espoir	20	13:36.3	39
6	Gabe	Dellar	Stolen Goat Race Team	Male	Espoir	22	13:53.3	42
7	Phil	Stonelake	Bristol Road Club	Male	Veteran	48	13:53.7	36
8	Arion	Oates	PDQ Cycle Coaching	Male	Senior	32	14:08.3	24
9	James	Pearce	Solihull CC	Male	Senior	33	14:09.3	33
10	Joe	Rees	Kalas Motip	Male	Senior	23	14:37.1	46
11	Ted	Cross	University of Bristol Cycling Club	Male	Senior	27	14:38.0	13
12	Russell	Powell	Sid Valley CC	Male	Veteran	41	15:06.9	38
13	Michael	Sleeman	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Male	Senior	27	15:09.3	37
14	Karl	Norris	360VRT	Male	Veteran	52	15:10.2	34
15	Dylan	Evans	Clwb Beicio Egni Eryri	Male	Senior	29	15:10.6	48
16	Ed	Slot	Sotonia CC	Male	Senior	32	15:24.8	43
17	Jack	Evans	Gorilla Coffee Cycling Club	Male	Senior	29	15:39.3	35
18	Andrew	Metherell	Salt and Sham Cycle Club	Male	Veteran	52	15:58.2	32
19	Adam	Holt	Dursley Road Club	Male	Espoir	19	16:16.9	31
20	Roy	Slide	Backpedal	Male	Veteran	56	16:32.5	30
21	lwan	Morton	Pontypool Road Cycling Club	Male	Veteran	47	17:01.4	9
22	Karl	Rees	Port Talbot Whs CC	Male	Senior	39	17:02.9	26
23	John	Rees	Cardiff Ajax CC	Male	Senior	38	17:15.7	19
24	Shane	Pocock	Jubilee Park Cycling Club	Male	Senior	34	17:57.4	17
25	Charlie	Williams	Hereford & Dist Whs CC	Male	Junior	17	18:02.3	20
26	Joshua	Palmer	VMCC powered by Y Beic	Male	Juvenile	15	19:46.4	15
27	Mike	Hall	Port Talbot Whs CC	Male	Veteran	54	20:58.5	23
28	Timothy	Davies	Towy Riders Cycle Club	Male	Senior	35	21:02.4	29
29	Stephan	Wilcox	Port Talbot Whs CC	Male	Veteran	62	21:45.4	18
30	Geoff	Pickin	PDQ Cycle Coaching	Male	H4	60	35:38.0	27
	David	Scott	MULE .C.C.	Male	Senior	32	DNS	44
	Alex	Jehu	Merthyr CC	Male	Senior	32	DNS	25
	John	Aspell	Port Talbot Whs CC	Male	Veteran	55	DNS	12
1	Illi	Gardner	Wahoo Le Col	Female	Senior	23	14:46.3	50
2	Lowri	Woodier	Pontypool Road Cycling Club	Female	Veteran	44	19:38.7	11
3	Becky	Aicheler	Cwmcarn Paragon Cycling Club	Female	Veteran	43	19:43.2	22
4	Lianne	Lusty	Cwmcarn Paragon Cycling Club	Female	Senior	38	21:18.1	10
5	Helen	Stevenson	Cwmcarn Paragon Cycling Club	Female	Juvenile	15	23:24.8	14
6	Emma	Davies	Port Talbot Whs CC	Female	Veteran	54	25:02.3	16
	Rebecca	Richardson	Team Lifting Gear Products	Female	Senior	37	DNS	47
	Emma	Bexson	Stratford Cycling Club	Female	Veteran	48	DNS	21
	Lisa	Davies	VMCC powered by Y Beic	Female	Senior	30	DNS(a)	28